Aups,
Capital of the Haut-Var!

Located near the Lac de Sainte Croix and the Gorges du Verdon, part of the Verdon Regional Natural Park, Aups will win you over with its many facets. Protected by mountains and Cuguyons Espiguières, surrounded by fields and forests, Aups is a place of well-being.  The town is striving to preserve, restore and enhance the landscape as well as its urban heritage.

Come discover the rich vineyards of Aups and the Verdon, in the heart of olive groves.  Aups is the  capital of the black truffle (also known as “black diamond”). You will discover the authentic products for which Aups is famous: the course black truffle which is harvested in winter and is the jewel of French cuisine and whose inimitable taste refines many dishes; virgin olive oil with its characteristic green color and fruity odor, excellent health properties and pleasant to the palate.  Not to mention wine, honey with a thousand therapeutic properties and so many varieties and uses, goat cheeses with strong, cool, dry flavors, to be enjoyed in many ways, saffron that will delight your taste buds … and many other flavors waiting for you! Delicious!

Having been granted the royal warrant in the Middle Ages, Aups also allows you to enjoy typical markets on Wednesdays and Saturday mornings and night markets organized under the plane trees of the town hall square, the last two Thursdays of July and the first two Thursdays in August. During the summer, many events await you: aperitif Jazz Festival concerts, votive festivals and fun…

Did you know?

Aups has a rich architectural heritage:

  • The Clock Tower (Campanile and wrought iron sundial) is classified as a historical monument.
  • The church of Saint Pancras is one of the few religious buildings marked with the words “Liberty, Equality, Fraternity” following the separation of church and state in 1905.
  • Included in the inventory of buildings in France, it has a precious museum of religious art in which you can admire the oldest processional cross of Provence from the 14th.

Also entered in the heritage of historical monuments:

The Factory of the Abbot John, the Clock Tower, Castle Taurenne, The Sundial (Rue Voltaire).

Do not miss!

Found 4 listings

Events Calendar

november, 2018

1jan - 31decAll DayMini atelier sculpture sur bois(All Day) AupsVillage :Aups

Tourist Office

Aups, Capitale du Haut-Var !

Située près du Lac de Sainte Croix et des Gorges du Verdon, intégrée dans le Parc Naturel Régional du Verdon, Aups saura vous séduire par ses multiples facettes. Protégé par les montagnes des Cuguyons et des Espiguières, entouré de champs et de forêts, Aups est lou païs dou ben estre. La commune s’attèle à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur son patrimoine paysager et urbain.

Venez découvrir la richesse du terroir Aupsois : entre vignobles et Verdon, au cœur des oliviers, capitale de la truffe noire (également appelée « le diamant noir »), Aups, village de caractère, vous emmène à la découverte des mille et une saveurs de son terroir. Vous y découvrirez les produits authentiques qui font sa renommée : la truffe noire bien sûr qui se récolte en hiver, véritable joyau de la cuisine française et dont le goût inimitable sublime les plats ; l’huile d’olive vierge, à la couleur verte si caractéristique et à l’odeur fruitée, excellente pour la santé et agréable au palais, le vin, le miel, aux mille et une vertus thérapeutiques et aux si nombreuses variétés et utilisations, le fromage de chèvre, fort, frais, sec, aromatisé, qui se déguste de bien des manières, le safran qui enchantera vos papilles… et bien d’autres saveurs encore… qui vous attendent ! Ici nous avons le goût du Vrai et du Bon !

Détenant le droit de foire depuis le moyen-âge, Aups vous permettra également de profiter des deux marchés typiques, les mercredis et samedis matins ainsi que des marchés nocturnes organisés sous les platanes de la place de la mairie, les deux derniers jeudis de Juillet et les deux premiers jeudis d’août. Durant l’été, de nombreuses manifestations vous attendent : Festival de Jazz apéros concerts, fêtes votive et foraine…

Le saviez-vous ?

Aups possède un riche patrimoine architectural :

  • La Tour de l’Horloge (Campanile en fer forgé et cadran solaire) est classée comme monument historique.
  • La collégiale Saint Pancrace fait partie des rares édifices religieux frappée de la mention « Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité » suite à la séparation de l’Eglise et de l’Etat en 1905.
  • Inscrite à l’inventaire des bâtiments de France, elle possède un musée d’art religieux précieux où on peut admirer la plus ancienne croix processionnelle de Provence datant du 14ème.

Egalement inscrits au Patrimoine des monuments historiques :

La Fabrique de l’Abbé Jean, La Tour de l’Horloge, Le Château de Taurenne, Le Cadran solaire (rue Voltaire).

À ne pas manquer !

Résultats 7 listes

Calendrier des événements

novembre, 2017

23nov - 1marToute la journéeMarché à la truffe(Toute la journée) AupsVillage :Aups

Office de tourisme